|
P.O. Box 9 |
Newfoundland Tourism Region : Avalon
St. Joseph's: Located on northeastern St. Mary's Bay, on the south side of Salmonier Arm, across the arm from Mitchel's Brook, the community was settled in the early 1800s by Irish families who, according to the ENL sources, most likely came across the bay from St. Mary's or from the southeast from the community of Trepassey.
In the Census of 1836, the name of the community appears as Black Duck Gullies and had a population of 24. When the town's name change, who instigated the change and why St. Joseph's was chosen remains unknown to the research team.
St. Joseph could refer to the husband of Mary and the legal father of Jesus, however there are a number of
"other" St. Josephs in the Catholic Church and it is a common name of towns around the world, including six in France alone.
In 2016 the population of St. Joseph's was 115, exactly the same as recorded in 2011. St. Joseph's should not be confused with St. Josephs Cove, located on the west side of the Bay d'Espoir.
St. Joseph's Cove was known as Cock and Hen Cove (cocks and hens refers to clams) after the clams that were harvested by fishermen to be used as bait.
Used with permission from "Uncovering the Origin of 1001 Unique Place Names in Newfoundland and Labrador" 2021 Jennifer Leigh Hill
Address of this page: http://nl.ruralroutes.com/StJosephsNL
Quick Search
