|
11 POST OFFICE RD |
Newfoundland Tourism Region : Central
Purbeck's Cove: Located on the western side of the peninsula, across White Bay from Sop's Arm, approximately 40 km (24.8 mi) SW of the town of Baie Vert, the Purbeck's Cove is also known as "Purbeeks Cove" and is shown as such on the "Traveller's Map" issued by Newfoundland and Labrador Tourism.
The following comes from the Central NL website:
Purbeck's Cove is situated at sea level in an elongated U-shaped cove facing northwest out to sea. The prevalent winds are eastern and western. Purbeck's Cove is surrounded by high tree covered hills on all three sides with the main road coming into the community from the southeast....
The small community of Purbeck's Cove was settled in the early 1800's by one man. The man's surname was Wellman, who originated from England. He settled over in the west side of the cove which was known as Wellman's path.
The next settlers to live in the cove was Edward Stuckless and Theadore Stuckless who also originated from England. The name Purbeck's Cove refers to beds of materials consisting of corals and marble. Since both marble and coral can be found, it would appear that is where the name came from.
In 1905, a company from St. John's began mining the Marble Quarry which starts at Wild Beach and runs into Purbeck's Cove. The industry failed in 1920 due to poor equipment.
According to information contained in Wikipedia, Purbeck stone originally referred to a type of stone that came from a series of limestone beds found on the Isle of Purbeck, Dorset in southern England.
Purbeck Marble is of such good quality it has been used in churches and cathedrals across the country, especially for fonts, tombs, flooring and shafts.
Used with permission from "Uncovering the Origin of 1001 Unique Place Names in Newfoundland and Labrador" 2021 Jennifer Leigh Hill
Address of this page: http://nl.ruralroutes.com/PurbecksCove
Quick Search


